Diversity Council   

About the Diversity Council and its Members

The Diversity Council has existed since 2008, first as an advisory body to the Dean, and more recently, as a vehicle to assist our entire community to “own” the goals we seek to achieve in our investment in diversity.  Those goals include promoting a diverse and inclusive academic and legal community.  The Council’s primary mission is to better prepare students for an increasingly diverse society, promote a diverse educational environment, and assist with advancing equality and growing diversity with the legal profession.  Dean Boozang stresses that diversity envisions that the academic space we inhabit is enriched by the conversation of many voices, thereby improving the quality of education we all receive.  “But this goal of enrichment is accomplished only if the diverse voices in the class room are heard, which poses a challenge for each of us -- professor and student.”  


Zoila Cassanova, Esq., Deputy Supervising Court Attorney, Bronx Criminal Court
Janet Costello, Esq., Law Offices of Janet Costello, LLC
Michellene Davis, Esq., Barnabas Hospital
Renée L. Davis, Porzio, Bromberg & Newman, P.C.
Matthew Feinstein, Esq., NJ LEEP, Inc.
Erika Lopes-McLeman, Esq., Dentons, LLP
Hon. Steven C. Mannion, United States Magistrate Judge for the District of New Jersey
Michele Meyer-Shipp, Esq., Prudential Financial


Kathleen M. Boozang, Dean and Professor of Law
Jenny Brooke Condon, Associate Professor of Law
Cara Herrick Foerst, Dean of Students
Father Nicholas Gengaro, Chaplain of Seton Hall Law
Rachel Godsil, Professor of Law
Maya Grosz, Associate Professor of Law and Director of Skills Curriculum
John Jacobi, Professor of Law and Director of The Center for Health & Pharmaceutical Law & Policy
Gisele Joachim, Dean of Enrollment Management
David Opderbeck, Professor of Law and Director of the Gibbons Institute of Law, Science & Technology
Erin R. Scherzer, Associate Director of Career Services
Brian Sheppard, Associate Professor of Law
Claudette L. St. Romain, Associate Professor of Law and Diversity Council Co-Chair
Jamie Pukl-Werbel, Dean of Alumni, Development and External Relations


Arab Law Students Association
Asian-Pacific American Law Students Association
Black Law Students Association
Irish American Law Students Association
Jewish Law Students Association
Lambda Law Alliance
Latin American Law Students Association
Muslim Law Students Association
Peter Rodino Society
St. Thomas More Society
Student Bar Association
Student Veterans Association
Women’s Law Forum


Victor A. Afanador, Esq.
Veronica Allende, Esq.
Akinyemi T. Akiwowo, Esq.
Aney Chandy, Esq.
James Coleman, Jr., Esq.
Vivian Sanks King, Esq.
Marina Lao, Professor of Law
Marc Larkins, Esq.
Solangel Maldonado, Professor of Law
Emilia Perez, Esq.
Hon. Hany A. Mawla
Susie Cho, Esq.
Sang Choi, Esq.
Diecelis Escaño, Esq.
Jeremy Farrell, Esq.
Hon. José L. Linares
Craig Livermore, Esq.
Bindi Merchant, Esq.
Calvin Souder, Esq.
Bryn Whittle, Esq.