Home  >  Current Students  >  Organizations  >  Interscholastic Moot Court Board

Interscholastic Moot Court Board   

  • President:
  • Jodi Hudson, Director of Interscholastic Moot Court Board -

Interscholastic Moot Court Program, students compete in Appellate Moot Court competitions throughout the country. Students engage in competitions addressing such issues as criminal law, health law, trademark law, juvenile law, and civil rights law. Students are selected for the Moot Court Board, composed of approximately thirty-two students, based on their writing and oral advocacy skills as demonstrated through their participation in the Eugene Gressman Moot Court Competition for upper-class students and the Ronald J. Riccio First-Year Moot Court Competition. Jodi A. Hudson, Esq., a Seton Hall law graduate and a certified Civil Trial Attorney, has served as Director of the Moot Court Program since 2000.

Seton Hall Law School’s Interscholastic Moot Court Board is currently ranked 6th in the nation by As a result of this ranking, Seton Hall, along with the top sixteen programs nationally, was selected to participate in the National Moot Court Invitational in January 2009 at the Advocacy Institute in Houston, Texas.

Seton Hall finished the 2007-2008 school year with a record 27 awards, exceeding the Board's 21 awards received in 2006-2007 and 25 awards earned during the 2005-2006 school year. These awards have lifted Seton Hall's Interscholastic Moot Court Board to 7 National victories and 14 Regional victories.

The Interscholastic Moot Court Program at Seton Hall also hosts the John J. Gibbons Criminal Procedure Moot Court Competition, which focuses on timely issues of criminal procedure and criminal law. The competition hosts 40 teams from around the country, selected on a first-come-first-served basis. Due to the popularity of the program, registration is limited to one team per school, and enrollment has grown from 24 teams to 40 teams nationally. Past winners of the competition include Texas Wesleyan (2008); Boston College (2007, 2006); Georgia State University School of Law (2005); American University-Washington College of Law (2004); New York Law School (2003); New York University School of Law (2002) and George Mason School of Law (2001). Federal and state court judges, along with Seton Hall Law professors, serve as the competition’s Final Round panel.