Home  >  About Seton Hall Law  >  In the Spotlight

In the Spotlight   

Moot Court Competition Team

Moot Court Teams Win 1st and 2nd Place

Moot Court Director Jodi Hudson, faculty members, and Alex Silagi '14 and Christina Yousef '14, the 2013 winners of the competition, coach the teams to victory

In a highly unusual match-up, two teams from Seton Hall Law met in the Final Round of the National Health Law Moot Court Competition, held at Southern Illinois School of Law from November 6-7, 2015.

Christopher Capitanelli '16 and Angelo Cerimele '16 met classmates Nina Trovato '16 and Arnold Picinich in a battle for First Place, with Capitanelli and Cerimele '16 emerging victorious. Trovato and Picinich received Second Best Brief Honors along with their Second Place finish. Capitanelli was also named Fifth Best Overall Oralist. The competition hosted 30 teams from across the nation. All four are members of Seton Hall’s Interscholastic Moot Court Board.

After the preliminary rounds, Capitanelli and Cerimele were seeded #1, with Trovato and Picinich close behind in the #2 position, having beaten schools with excellent moot court programs, including University of California Hastings College of Law, Texas Tech, and Loyola Chicago, on their road to the finals.

“Arguing against Seton Hall teammates took most of the stress out of the room, because we’ve 'competed' against each other countless times in practice,” Cerimele commented. “There was also a feeling that there was no losing the round; even if Nina and Arnold won, Chris and I would have been just as happy for our teammates. It truly was a win-win situation, and the only thing on the line was bragging rights.”

“In the end, it was an unbelievable experience, and a great win for Seton Hall School of Law and our Interscholastic Moot Court Board,” Capitanelli agreed. Picinich added, "Nina and I were thrilled to have advanced to the Final Round of the competition.”

The teams were coached by veteran Interscholastic Moot Court Board members Alex Silagi ’14 and Christina Yousef ’14, who won the National Health Law Competition in 2013. “We are extremely fortunate that Alex and Christina give back so generously to the Interscholastic Moot Court Board,” said Jodi Anne Hudson, ’96, Adjunct Professor and Director of the Interscholastic Moot Court Board “The coaches knew the competition, having been in their shoes a short time ago."

Arnold Picinich agreed, adding, “We give the most credit to our coaches, who took every night to run through our arguments and help us become fully prepared. We could not have done it without them.”

The students were also fortunate to have other faculty members prepare them for competition, including Professor Tara Ragone of Seton Hall’s Center for Health & Pharmaceutical Law & Policy, with expertise on the subject matter provided by Professors Angela Carmella, Carl Coleman and Thomas Healy.

“The problem was challenging, the judges were tough, and our competitors were diligent, but no match for Seton Hall,” Trovato concluded.

Trovato and Picinich, and Capitanelli and Cerimele, were chosen by Professor Hudson as the ABA NAAC Competition teams for Spring 2016. They hope to meet again, and if they are fortunate enough to make the Top 32 teams for Final Round competition in Chicago, Picinich and Trovato want a rematch.

Pictured, from left, are Angelo Cerimele, Chris Capitanelli, Nina Trovato and Arnold Picinich.