John J. Gibbons Moot Court Competition

Registration Has Closed

About the Competition

The John J. Gibbons Criminal Procedure Moot Court Competition focuses on timely issues of criminal procedure and criminal law. Held at the Law School in the heart of Newark, New Jersey, the competition consists of over forty law schools from across the country. Past winners of the competition include University of Miami School of Law (2023 & 2014); Florida International University College of Law (2019); Notre Dame Law School (2018); Villanova University School of Law (2017); Fredric G. Levin College of Law (2016); New York Law School (2015 & 2003); New York University School of Law (2013, 2012 & 2002); William and Mary Law School (2011); Loyola University of Chicago School of Law (2010); Albany Law School (2009); Texas Wesleyan Law School (2008); Boston College Law School (2007 & 2006); Georgia State University School of Law (2005); American University-Washington College of Law (2004); and George Mason School of Law (2001).

The John J. Gibbons Criminal Procedure Moot Court Competition will be held March 15-16, 2024. Registration begins Thursday, November 30, 2023 and continues until the competition is full. We will accept forty teams on a first-come-first-served basis. Due to the overwhelming response, the competition will permit the registration of only one team per school. Schools with an interest in sending two teams will have their second team placed on the waiting list and entered if space is available. If your school is interested in sending two teams, please make a note of it on the entry form. The entry fee for each team is $750.00.

Schools will be invited to participate in the order in which the entry forms are received. Once a team completes the online entry form when available, an email with a link for payment will be sent to the team’s contact. We will then hold a spot for your team until December 30, 2023 in order for your entry fee to be processed. If we have not received your entry fee, and have not heard from you concerning the status of payment, we will then invite wait-listed teams to participate.

Competition Information

Each team may be comprised of two or three students who must all participate in the writing of the brief. Each team will write one brief, representing the party of its choice. Each team will argue both sides during preliminary rounds of oral argument. The problem will be distributed to all participants by January 29, 2024. The briefs must be received via email by February 23, 2024. Teams are permitted to begin oral argument practice prior to their brief submission. The competition banquet is held on Friday evening, at which time the advancing teams will be announced as well as brief and preliminary round oralist awards. The elimination rounds are held on Saturday morning and afternoon at the law school. An awards ceremony will follow the final round, with awards presented to the first and second place team, semifinalists, and best oralist in the final round.

For questions concerning the Competition, kindly contact Professor Jodi Anne Hudson at [email protected].

Please address all correspondence to: Professor Jodi Anne Hudson, Director, Interscholastic Moot Court Board, The Gibbons Competition, Seton Hall University School of Law, One Newark Center, Newark, NJ 07102-5210. If sending a check, please make payable to Seton Hall University School of Law – Interscholastic Moot Court Board/Gibbons Competition

SETON HALL UNIVERSITY SCHOOL OF LAW | One Newark Center Jodi Anne Hudson Director, Interscholastic Moot Court Board and Adjunct Professor of Law Seton Hall School of Law | 973-642-8953 | 973-642-8500 x8220