Home  >  About Seton Hall Law  >  Diversity  >  Diversity Through The Years

Diversity Through The Years   

Timeline - 1960 to Present

edith-ramirez2015 – Federal Trade Commission Chairwoman Edith Ramirez was the keynote lecturer at the 2015 Diversity Speaks lecture series. She spoke about her focus on the privacy implications of electronic data and the need for transparency from companies collecting such information. Chairwoman Ramirez avidly advocated for comprehensive consumer-privacy legislation. She also highlighted the FTC’s initiative focusing on how fraud and scams target certain vulnerable communities. Chairwoman Ramirez, a daughter of Mexican immigrants, is the first Latina to oversee the nearly 100-year-old commission.

Sonia Sotomayor visits Seton Hall Law 4/10/142014Sonia Sotomayor, Associate Justice of the U.S. Supreme Court was the keynote lecturer at the 2014 Diversity Speaks lecture series. She shared insights from her memoir, My Beloved World, met with students, and later that day, presided, alongside Judges Michael A. Chagares '87 and Julio M. Fuentes at the final round of the Eugene Gressman Appellate Moot Court Competition.

Paulette-Brown'76130x812013Paulette Brown '76, a Partner at Locke Lord Edwards and the firm's Chief Diversity Officer,is unanimously elected as the President of the American Bar Association for the 2015-16 term. She is the first woman of color to serve in the role.

Charles J. Ogletree, Diversity Speaks2012 – Seton Hall Law and the law firm, Porzio Bromberg & Newman P.C., launch a new lecture series, Diversity Speaks, as a forum to explore diversity, from all facets, within the legal profession. The inaugural speaker is Charles J. Ogletree, Jr., Harvard Law School, Jesse Climenko Professor of Law and Founding and Executive Director of the Charles Hamilton Houston Institute for Race.

NAWJ_Scholarship_Recipients_2011_130x812011 – Two Seton Hall Law students are honored by the National Association of Women Judges: Chrishana White ’13 (left), is awarded the Equal Access to Justice Scholarship; Megan Altman ’12 is awarded the Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg Scholarship.

Victor_Campos_'13_130x812011Victor Campos ’13 becomes the first recipient of the prestigious Arent, Fox Diversity Scholarship.

file13_130x812011 – The first cohort of NJ LEEP’s “College Bound” high school seniors head to college, with 10 attending Top 100 schools including Bryn Mawr College, Mount Holyoke College, Stevens Insti­tute of Technology and Drew University. Pictured at left is NJ LEEP graduate Fatimah Jafiq, who attends Bryn Mawr College.

POC Conference Rev Jackson and PEH 130x812010 – Seton Hall Law School hosts the Third National People of Color Legal Scholarship Conference, the largest gathering of diverse law faculty in the United States. Reverend Jesse Jackson, Sr. serves as the conference keynote speaker.

untitled2010Professor Brenda Saunders Hampden, Director of the Summer Institute for Pre-Legal Studies, is honored during the 50th anniversary of the High Point Woolworth’s sit-ins, the first such demonstrations staged by high school students in the United States. Professor Saunders Hampden, a pioneer in the civil rights movement, desegregated High Point, North Carolina’s schools when she was 12 (pictured right, with her sister Lynn), and led the High Point sit-ins at the age of 13.

Tagrid Hikmet 130x812010Judge Tahgrid Hikmet, the first female judge in Jordan, also the first Arab Muslim to serve as Judge of the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda, receives the Sandra Day O’Connor Medal of Honor.

Pre-Legal_Institute_30th_Anniversary_130x812010 – The Summer Institute for Pre-Legal Studies celebrates its 30th anniversary. Pictured: Sergio Suarez ’15, a participant in the Pre-Legal program and a presenter at the Anniversary celebration.

Hany Mawla comp 130x812010 – Diversity Council member, Hany Mawla ’98, is the first Arab-American Muslim to ascend to the Superior Court in the New Jersey.

LEO_30th_Anniversary_2008_130x812008 – The Legal Education Opportunities program celebrates its 30th anniversary. Pictured are Kecia Clark '99 (left) and Christina Bennett '94.

Dean's Diversity Council 130x812008 – Dean Hobbs announces the formation of the Dean’s Diversity Council, an advisory board comprising students, alumni, staff and faculty members who assist the law school administration in implementing its core value of promoting diversity in the legal profession. Professor Solangel Maldonado (pictured, center) is appointed founding chair. 

NJ_LEEP_2008_130x812006 – Seton Hall Law supports the launch of the New Jersey Legal Education Empowerment Program (NJ LEEP), which exposes middle school and high school inner-city youth to careers in the law and focuses on preparation for college through programs held both during the school year and in the summer. Pictured: Craig Livermore, Founder and Executive Director of NJ LEEP (center) with NJ LEEP students, Summer 2008.

Dorothy_Day_Scholarship2005 – The Dorothy Day Scholarship is established, awarded to highly qualified students from disadvantaged backgrounds that are underrepresented in the legal profession.

2004 Justice O'Connor and Judge Trump Barry 130x812004 - U.S. Supreme Court Justice Sandra Day O’Connor (ret.) presents the Sandra Day O’Connor Medal of Honor to Judge Maryanne Trump Barry of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit.

Sonia_Sotomayor 130x812003U.S. Supreme Court Justice Sonia Sotomayor, then a Judge on the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit, speaks at Seton Hall Law School.

Walker2003Karol Corbin Walker ’86 becomes the first African American, and the first female President of the New Jersey State Bar Association.

Haiti Rule of Law 130x812002 – Dean Patrick E. Hobbs establishes the Haiti Rule of Law project, cementing a close relationship between Seton Hall Law and L’Ecole Superieure Catholique de Droit de Jérémie, a law school located in Jérémie, Haiti.

Hon Marie White Bell 130x811998Marie White Bell ‘73 becomes the first African American female appointed to the Superior Court of New Jersey in Burlington County.

Judge_Shirley_Tolentino_130x811984 – Appointed by Governor Thomas Kean, Judge Shirley A.  Tolentino ’71 (1943-2010) becomes the first African American woman to ascend to the Superior Court of the State of New Jersey.

Saunders Hampden Brenda 130x811979 – Seton Hall Law is chosen by the State of New Jersey to build the SummerInstitute for Pre-Legal Studies, for college students with socio-economic and/or educational disadvantages and an interest in the law, with the primary purpose of increasing the number of disadvantaged students who apply and gain admission to accredited law schools. Professor Brenda Saunders Hampden is named Director of the Institute.

LEO_Program_2011_130x811977 – Seton Hall Law launches the Legal Education Opportunity (LEO) Program, an academic support program committed to the success of students from disadvantaged backgrounds during law school and in the legal profession. The LEO cohort of 2011 is pictured with Professor Shavar Jeffries, Seton Hall Law Center for Social Justice (far right).

DeanRooney-130x811951 – Seton Hall Law is founded. Miriam T. Rooney appointed dean of Seton Hall Law, the first woman to become dean of an accredited law school in the United States.