Home > News > 

A Snapshot Into The Process of Naming Professor of the Year.


Professor Coenen with Section C students

Professor Coenen with Section C students at Barristers' Ball

This year’s Professor of the Year awards were given out at Seton Hall School of Law’s Barristers’ Ball on March 23, 2024. Voting is conducted by Seton Hall Law’s SBA and consists of collecting nominations and then facilitating voting in early March.


This year the nominees for the 2024 Paula A. Franzese Professor of the Year were Michael Coenen, Abdul Rehman Khan, Isis Misdary, Brian Murray, and Adrian Newell. The nominees for Adjunct Professor of the Year were Jonathan Barrera, Michelle Ghali, Henry Karwowski, Frank Politano, and Justin Wechsler.


The winner of the Paula A. Franzese Professor of the Year Award was Michael Coenen. Professor Coenen joined the Seton Hall Law community in 2018 and his scholarship focuses on the structure and implementation of public law norms and the challenges courts confront when translating abstract legal doctrine into workable rules of public law. Professor Coenen teaches courses in administrative law, comparative constitutional law, U.S. constitutional law, constitutional theory, and federal courts, along with state and local taxation.


The winner of Adjunct Professor of the Year was Henry M. Karwowski. Professor Karwowski practices at Rabinowitz Lubetkin & Tully in the areas of bankruptcy, debtor and creditor rights, and commercial litigation. During his time at Seton Hall Law, he has taught secured transactions, Bankruptcy and Creditors’ Rights, Business Associations, and Lawyering. Professor Karwowski also won this award as recently as 2020.


Congratulations to all the nominees and the 2024 winners, Professor Coenen and Professor Karwowski. The entirety of the voting process is conducted and facilitated by the Seton Hall Law student body. It is a great honor to be considered by the students in this way.

Categories: Student Life

For more information, please contact:

  • Seton Hall Law School