Externship at the Court of Justice of the European Union



Applications are due to Professors Tracy Kaye.  Please email Professor Tracy Kaye at [email protected] or her Paralegal Assistant, Matthew Friedman at [email protected] for the application. More details available below.

Image of a skyline in Luxebourg.

Applications must include a completed application form and graduate and undergraduate transcripts. 

All applications must first be submitted to each law school's administrator for review.  After initial screening, each law school administrator should write a nominating letter for each student and forward via e-mail a maximum of three (3) endorsed applications to the U.S. Embassy in Luxembourg using address: [email protected]

Each complete application and accompanying transcripts must be saved as a single PDF document. Applications for either stage period must be received by April 1, 2021. 

After review, the Embassy will forward approved application materials to the Court of Justice for review and circulation among the Judges and Advocates General, according to the applicant's stated preferences.

Individual Judges and Advocates General will select Dean Acheson stagiaires from the lists submitted and the Court of Justice of the European will notify the Embassy and the applicants of their selection by the end of July.





Seton Hall Law
Dean Acheson Stage Participants

  • Caitlin Parker '19
  • Beata Safari '17
  • Ariel Risinger '15
  • Catherine Savio '15
  • Yasmine Fulena '14
  • Anthony Marroney Noto '11
  • Elizabeth Dawson '05
  • Eileen Quinn Steiner '01
  • Christina Eoanna Giallourakis '00
  • Janine Tramontana '99
  • Mel Marquis '97
  • Aurora Rodriguez de Aragon '97
  • William Matsikoudis '97
  • Susan Ludwigson '96

Law Schools

  • American University
  • Arizona State University
  • Boston University
  • Columbia University
  • Cornell University
  • Duke University
  • Fordham University
  • Georgetown University
  • George Washington University
  • Harvard University
  • New York University
  • Northwestern University
  • Seton Hall University
  • Stanford University
  • Southern Methodist University
  • University of Alabama
  • University of California, Berkeley
  • University of California, LA
  • University of Chicago
  • University of Connecticut
  • University of Illinois
  • University of Kansas
  • University of Michigan
  • University of Minnesota
  • University of Pennsylvania
  • University of Pittsburgh
  • University of Southern California
  • University of Texas at Austin
  • University of Virginia
  • Vanderbilt University
  • Washington University, St. Louis
  • West Virginia University
  • Yale University